God stuff, music

another great hymn, just when i need it

We sang an awesome hymn in Bible Study Fellowship this last week, from a song by Frances Havergal, entitled, “Lord, Speak to Me, That I May Speak”… I wasn’t very familiar with it, but the words were great:

“verse 3: O teach me, Lord, that I may teach / the precious things thou dost impart / and wing my words, that they may reach / the hidden depths of many a heart.”

How beautiful God’s timing is, as He knew I needed this prayer this week. He knows exactly what encouragement to send us when we have stuff to do for Him.  As I prepare to talk at MAPS (Mothering with a Purpose), the bi-weekly women’s Bible Study at Sandals tomorrow, it will be by His great power that i’m able to talk about Jehovah-Mekoddishkem, “the Lord Who Sanctifies You”… because this week i haven’t been very holy in my attitudes towards my kids, other drivers, Panera workers or myself. But God already knew that when I was asked to sub for Nancy, and He still lets me serve Him.

Pray that God “wings my words that they may reach the hidden depths of many a heart” tomorrow. Only He can take our feeble offerings and make something beautiful and eternal happen in someone else.

Standard

One thought on “another great hymn, just when i need it

  1. you did amazing. you really do have a teaching gift.
    i have to admit, i felt weird being a single non -mom listening to parenting skills and child activities while babies were being breastfed,
    nonetheless i thoroughly enjoyed your talk and think you are awesome 🙂

Leave a comment